Yvonne here… I was recently honored to be asked to contribute to a Holiday write. There are many cool responses and stories from personalities, poets, rockers, punks and pretty people in this sweet and sentimental piece. My epic response is the very last one. Happy Everything Everyone… only Love. ~ydlv

Image

“What is your Happiest Holiday Memory?” click here for the full article on SugarBuzz Magazine

“What is your Happiest Holiday Memory?”
By Lucky and a Host of Friends

Chaos reigns supreme during the days leading up to Christmas. It seems no matter how early I start there is always so much to do and so little time to do it. The shopping, wrapping, decorating and preparing takes its toll and damn near negates the real meaning of the season. So I’d like to take some time, reflect and refrain, and think about times past and my Happiest Holiday Memory.

The year was 1993, four days before Christmas. Financially I had hit the skids despite working a full time job and a second one (DJ at The Rainbow Bar and Grill) to boot. Money was real tight, food, rent and a few Christmas presents took priority over fluff. My son, whom mainly lived with his mom, but stayed with me two or three days of the week,  kept asking me “Daddy, how come you don’t have a Christmas tree?”. How do you explain to a four year old that you can’t afford one? In a way he seemed to sense all was not quite right at Dad’s place.

That night I went to work and upon walking into the back kitchen, Tony, one of my bosses, said “Hey Lucky, don’t forget to pick up your Christmas bonus.” Now I have worked all my life and I have never had a Christmas bonus of any sort. It was a check for $50. It might as well have been for $50 million I was so happy.

So as soon as I could I cashed that sucker and hit a small tree lot on Highland, just down the road a way from the Hollywood Bowl and scored a decent tree for $35. I took it home and decorated it. I will never forget the look on my son’s face when he saw that tree. I secretly cried like a baby. I treasure those memories despite all the hardships, and will always be thankful.

Last year I sent out a question to the masses and the response was so amazing that I decided to do it again this year in hopes to discover a treasured memory of friends and colleagues.

So without further adieu, “What is your happiest holiday memory?”  keep reading!

About Poet de la Vega

I'm Yvonne de la Vega and I love everyone.

One response »

  1. […] “What is your Happiest Holiday Memory?” from SugarBuzzMagazine. […]

don't be shy, leave a "hi"

