Boy and Girl Geniuses...then & now

click picture to listen to a live version of 'Rainy Night House'

I listened to Joni Mitchell for the first time on the music documentary The Last Waltz, about 3 years ago. I had recorded it on my DVR and would play it back every morning before school, just for Neil Young singing ‘Helpless’, with Mitchell singing background vocals, and the part where Joni Mitchell sings ‘Coyote’. At first, I couldn’t decide whether I loved her or hated her. It was something different. Something I wasn’t used to.

Eventually, I found myself at the local used CD store and on itunes buying Joni Mitchell albums. I was hooked. The voice, the lyrics, feeling to each song. All of it was enough for me to be clenched in the grips of Joni Mitchell. Whenever I get in conversation about Joni Mitchell, I usually say, “I fell in love with Joni Mitchell just by hearing her voice,” and always, I rave about this poetic, genuine song.

RAINY NIGHT HOUSE

It was a rainy night
We took a taxi to your mother’s hom
She went to Florida and left you
With your father’s gun, alone

Upon her small white bed
I fell into a dream
You sat up all the night and watched me
To see, who in the world I might be.

I am from the Sunday school
I song soprano in the upstairs choir
You are a holy man
On the F.M. radio
I sat up all the night and watched thee
To see, who in the world you might be.

You called me beautiful
You called your mother – she was very tanned
So you packed your tent and went
To live out in the Arizona sand
You are a refugee
From a wealthy family
You gave up all the golden factories
To see, who in the world you might be.

Ladies of the Canyon

April, 1970

M.j. Taylor



About blaxtheace

Created the Justin Bieber hair-flip.

One response »

  1. Nice MJ I love Joni. Edith & The King Pin and Shades of Scarlett.

don't be shy, leave a "hi"

